Chair of Solid State Physics


Jörg Peter Kotthaus

Jörg P. Kotthaus
CeNS und Fakultät für Physik der LMU
Geschwister-Scholl-Platz 1
80539 München

Tel:+49 89 2180 3737
Fax:+49 89 2180 993737



Jörg P. Kotthaus is an Emeritus Professor of Experimental Physics at LMU Munich since 2012. He graduated with a Diplom in Physics from the TU Munich in 1969. In 1972 he received his Ph. D. in Physics from the University of California, Santa Barbara, with research on antiferromagnetic resonance phenomena. Between 1973 and 1978 he participated in initial spectroscopic studies of electronic excitations in two-dimensional electron systems on semiconductors at TU Munich. Appointed as Professor of Physics succeeding Heinz Raether at the Institute of Applied Physics of Hamburg University in 1978, he started with his group to realize semiconductor micro- and nanostructures such as quantum wires and dots and investigated their electronic properties employing spectroscopic and charge transport studies. In 1989 he moved to LMU Munich as head of a new chair in Experimental Physics - Semiconductor Physics. There the research of his group concentrated on ballistic and phase coherent electron transport and single electron phenomena in semiconductor nanostructures, high frequency and opto-electronic phenomena in quantum confined devices, fundamentals of nano-electro-mechanical systems (NEMS), and improving methods of nanofabrication for a range of applications, in part resulting in four successful spin-off companies founded by his junior collaborators.

In 1998 he initiated and cofounded the Center for NanoScience (CeNS) at LMU Munich. CeNS is an interdisciplinary working group established to enhance research and education on tailored objects and functions at the nanometer scale at the interface between physics, chemistry, molecular biology and medicine. He served as CeNS spokesman between 1998 and 2006 and coordinated the application and first year of operation of the Nanosystems Initiative Munich (NIM), one of the Clusters of Excellence funded since 2006 by the Initiative for Excellence of the German government.

In 1989 he was named Fellow of the American Physical Society for his contributions to the understanding of the electronic properties of confined systems in both one and two dimensions. In 1991 he received the Gentner-Kastler-Prize of the French and the German Physical Societies for his work on optics on quantized electron systems and in 1995 a Max-Planck Research Prize for International Collaboration.

He is a member of both German Academies of Sciences, acatech and Leopoldina.

Most research publications are listed at:

nanophysics group